’Jewish’ Stone

еврейский камень
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей

Sumerian cuneiform is presumably the world's earliest writing system. Yet billions of years before its invention, nature itself created a stone that looks to some like it was carved with writings in Arabic script, Germanic runes or Persian cuneiform. To others, the 'inscriptions' may resemble math formulas and even Morse code characters.

The rock is called pegmatite and is also known as a 'Jewish stone'. Ancient people thought the carvings onto it were made by the hands of the gods, believing they depicted the mystery of human origins. Pegmatites were worshipped by the Native Americans and indigenous peoples of the North of Russia. They were also revered by the Arabs and Scandinavians, who considered a pegmatite a legacy of ancient civilizations. Christians still believe that the Ten Commandments tablets God passed on to Moses on Mount Sinai were, in fact, pegmatite slabs.

Since the rock looks similar to a sheet inscribed with incomprehensible writing, people mistook it for the product of an unknown culture, with scholars working through the epochs to decipher the mysterious 'messages'. Their interest was somewhat stirred up by the fact that pegmatite samples sometimes bore patterns that matched the letters of known alphabets. One particular specimen discovered in the Ural had an 'inscription' that looked as if written in ancient Hebrew. Not just some individual letters, but the entire syllables were readable – hence, the 'Jewish stone' name arose.

еврейский камень
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей

As time went by, it became clear that this rock was hardly an answer to the riddles of the universe. On the other hand, it could tell a lot about the laws of crystallography. Alexander Fersman, a prominent Soviet mineralogist, studied the 'Jewish stone' in the early 20th century. The perfection of crystal texture and form within the pegmatitic rock is what caught his eye. Humans were unlikely to produce such designs back then. As it turned out, the formation of patterns on the rock surface had a natural explanation. Feldspar and quartz intergrow, showing graphic textures resembling inscriptions.

One can see pegmatites – or graphic granite, as they are also referred to – in St. Petersburg Mining Museum. Amongst the exhibits on display are the samples with original symbols from the Ilmensky Mountains, Southern Urals, along with the rarities retrieved from Larisa Popugayeva. The discoverer of Russia's first diamond deposit once had those items in her collection.

еврейский камень
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей

Санкт-ПетербургНебольшой дождь+12°C
$ЦБ:71,06ЦБ:82,62OPEC:83,30

«Еврейский» камень

еврейский камень
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей

Самой ранней письменностью в мире считается шумерская клинопись. Но еще миллиарды лет назад до ее появления природа уже создала камень, на котором отчетливо различались буквы из арабского письма, германских рун, персидской клинописи, математические формулы и даже «азбука Морзе».

Горная порода с «надписями» называется пегматит или «еврейский камень». В древности считалось, что знаки на нем сделаны руками богов и описывают тайны происхождения человечества. Пегматитам поклонялись американские индейцы, народы севера России, его почитали арабы и скандинавы, считая наследием древних цивилизаций. Христиане до сих пор верят, что скрижали, переданные Богом Моисею на горе Синай, представляли собой пегматитовые плиты с десятью заповедями.

Из-за того, что камень выглядит как таблицы с непонятными письменами, его принимали за продукт неизвестной культуры, а ученые разных времен трудились над расшифровкой загадочных «посланий». Подогревал интерес к горной породе и тот факт, что среди его экземпляров иногда встречались образцы с узорами, совпадающими с буквами известных алфавитов. На одном из пегматитов, обнаруженных на Урале, «надпись» в точности копировала древнееврейское письмо, отсюда собственно и этимология названия, так что можно было прочитать отдельные буквы и сложить их в слоги.

еврейский камень
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей

Со временем выяснилось, что в камне действительно были заключены загадки, но не о тайнах мироздания, а о законах кристаллографии. В начале XX века «еврейский камень» изучал известный минералог Александр Ферсман. Ученого заинтересовало в первую очередь высокая технологичность нанесения рисунка, который находился не только на поверхности, но и уходил вглубь породы. Такие методы, скорее всего, были не доступны древнему человеку. Выяснилось, что появление надписей имеет простое геологическое объяснение. В процессе образования пегматита происходит взаимное прорастание минерала кварца и полевого шпата с возникновением слоистых структур, внешне выглядящих как надписи.

Увидеть «еврейский камень» или как его еще называют письменный гранит можно в Горном музее Петербурга. Там хранятся образцы с оригинальными символами, добытые в Ильменский горах Урала, а также раритеты, некогда бывшие в коллекции известного геолога Ларисы Попугаевой - первооткрывателя первого алмазоносного месторождения в России.

еврейский камень
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей

Подписывайтесь на наши каналы:Google NewsGoogle НовостиYandex NewsЯндекс НовостиYandex ZenЯндекс Дзен