Saint-PetersburgPartly Cloudy+21°C
$ЦБ:73,14ЦБ:86,99OPEC:74,42

On Why Toxic Metal Still Enjoying Strong Global Demand

свинец
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей

British scientists have revealed that human breathing causes lead, antimony and copper compounds to form inside medical masks. It reminds of Vladimir Mayakovsky's lines, "as our days entered the water pipe, worked by the slaves of Rome". Which is a typical example of how lead pipes bring about a decline in the population's average life expectancy.

Tests on identifying the risks posed by mask production have become highly relevant during the pandemic. People worldwide need to keep wearing them, Project lead Dr Sarper Sarp of Swansea University says. The research revealed that when submerged in water, all studies samples show high levels of chemical pollutants. The British scientists emphasised that a disposable mask should not be worn severalfold and should be disposed of correctly. It is good to mention that disposable plastic face masks come under Category B waste in some European countries. This means they are processed separately from municipal solid waste and destructed by grinding, compacting or burning in designated areas.

маска
© pixabay.com

Inhabitants of ancient Rome, of course, did not wear masks. However, in the XIX century, an ingenious theory appeared which explained the fall of the Roman Empire by the widespread use of lead in everyday life. This theory became widely acknowledged and accepted as valid in 1965, propelled by the "Lead Poisoning and the Fall of Rome" article authored by Gilfillan and published in a medical journal.

Lead has been used by humans for thousands of years. It is ubiquitous. The metal is easy to extract and process; it is very malleable, and finally, it is easy to melt. An ingot of lead can be sliced by an ordinary knife. Lead smelting was one of the first metallurgical processes humanity became aware of. The oldest archaeological finds of lead-containing objects are beads dating back to 6400 BCE. Yet, the true popularity came to the metal in ancient Rome.

The former civilisation is believed to be the largest lead producer of the pre-industrial era, with an annual production of 80,000 tonnes. The metal was mined in Central Europe, the Balkans, Greece, Asia Minor, and Spain. In comparison, Dmitri Mendeleev wrote that in the late-19th century, Russia produced only 2-3 tonnes per year whilst consumed about 40,000 tonnes.

галенит
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей/ Галенит
Native lead occurs rarely, but it is found in various rock types - sedimentary, ultramafic intrusive ones, and others. By now, there have been 80 lead-bearing minerals identified. The most notable among them are galena, anglesite, and cerussite.

The Romans did not only make pipes for water supply systems from this metal. They also added it as lead sugar into wine to improve its taste. Along with water, it was the most popular drink back then, which was actually viewed as a cure for many diseases and actively 'prescribed' by local doctors for therapeutic purposes. Hence, almost all residents of the Roman Empire were poisoned by lead.

Chronic intoxication caused by regular ingestion of heavy metal compounds brings damage to all parts of the brain. It may cause damage to the hematopoietic system and kidney injuries. Lead is a polytropic poison: it affects different body organs and systems, accumulates in bone tissues, and displaces calcium. That is why many modern researchers attribute the health deterioration of the inhabitants of ancient Rome to the everyday use of lead.

свинец
© Фрагмент свинцовой трубы древнеримского водопровода

Lead was widely used in Russia, too. In 1633 a water supply line with lead pipes was built in the Kremlin. The water which ran through it came from the Vodovzvodnaya Tower. Luckily, in 1737 a decision to dismantle the system was approved. Subsequently, the metal was used to coat the roofs of churches, produce seals for letters and paints, and, following the invention of firearms, to make bullets.

The toxicity of lead is undoubted today. Nonetheless, scientists point out that the chemical element's biological effect and a lack of knowledge about its properties are the primary reasons for overly negative attitudes towards the metal.

Lead is dangerous if ingested directly. Otherwise, if handled correctly, it is perfectly harmless, and moreover, it can protect people from radiation. In addition, it has numerous applications in a variety of industries.

свинец
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей

It is known that a large part of the Arctic expedition led by John Franklin, a British explorer, died in 1845-1848 over being poisoned by lead. The haste with which the cans of food had been prepared allowed the metal to leach into the food. Ingestion of lead-contaminated food or drinking water with a high lead content is less harmful to health than inhaling lead dust, fumes or vapours. In areas with complex ore processing plants functioning, lead concentrations in the air are often above the threshold values.

Numerous measures are being taken at enterprises to prevent the inhalation intake of lead by workers. These include practical methods for reducing air dustiness, automation of technological processes and remote control, the use of industry-specific ventilation systems (aspiration, air showers).

In the 20th century, exhaust emissions from car engines caused significant lead pollution because lead additives (tetraethyl lead) were added to motor fuel to increase the octane number. Most countries, including Russia, have since legislated against the use of leaded gasoline, so the problem was solved.

Lead is excellent at absorbing γ-radiation, however. It played a crucial role in eliminating the consequences of the Chernobyl disaster. Rolls of lead sheet and bags filled with lead shot were being dropped onto the burning reactor for several weeks to seal off radiation and prevent the spread of it.

чернобыль
© IAEA Imagebank

When it became clear that there was no way to avoid people's working at the emergency site, it was decided to use special protective gear. It was basically an 'armoured' suit of lead, consisting of leaded mittens, helmet, protectors for chest and back, and insoles for boots. Such armour was literally made by hand, carved from 3 mm thick plates. Although it weighed 25 to 30 kg, it helped reduce radiation exposure by 1.6 times.

чернобыль
© Кадр из сериала HBO "Чернобыль"

Nowadays, the metal is used as a radiation shield at atomic reactors and in X-ray equipment. There is also a potential for using it as a coolant in future fast-neutron nuclear reactors.

The global output of lead amounts to over 2.5 million tonnes per year. Its compounds and alloys are used in producing a wide range of explosives and missiles and a special liquid for the flotation beneficiation of ores. The heavy metal found use as a cathode material in chemical current sources. There is also use for it in electrical engineering and the chemical industry. Most of the lead production now goes into the manufacture of batteries, particularly lithium ones.

Санкт-ПетербургСолнечно+21°C
$ЦБ:71,68ЦБ:87,33OPEC:70,90

Почему токсичный металл по-прежнему высоко востребован в мире

свинец
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей

Ученые Великобритании выявили, что в результате человеческого дыхания под медицинской маской образуются химические соединения свинца, сурьмы и меди. Невольно вспомнишь Маяковского: «Как в наши дни вошел водопровод, сработанный рабами Рима». Классический пример, когда свинцовые трубы приводят к сокращению среднего возраста населения.

По словам, Сарпера Сарпа, возглавлявшего исследование в английском Университете Суонси, тесты по определению безопасности масок стали чрезвычайно актуальными во время пандемии, когда весь мир был вынужден их использовать. В процессе экспериментов выяснилось, что при соприкосновении с водой во всех изученных образцах возникает высокая концентрация токсичных элементов. Британцы подчеркнули, что не следует носить одну одноразовую маску несколько раз, а также нарушать порядок ее утилизации. Напомним, в ряде стран Европы индивидуальные средства защиты котируются как медицинские отходы класса Б, собираются отдельно от твердых бытовых коммунальных отходов и уничтожаются измельчением, прессованием или сжиганием в специально отведенных для этого местах.

маска
© pixabay.com

Жители Древнего Рима, конечно, не носили масок, однако еще в XIX веке была выдвинута остроумная теория, объясняющая падение Римской империи широким применением свинца в быту. Обоснованность и известность эта версия получила в 1965 году благодаря статье «Свинцовое отравление и падение Рима», опубликованной американским социологом Гилфилланом в медицинском журнале.

Свинец используется человеком многие тысячелетия – он распространен, легко добывается и обрабатывается, очень ковкий и легко плавится. Слиток вполне можно разрезать обычным ножом. Его выплавка была одним из первых известных человеку металлургических процессов. Самой старой археологической находкой из свинца являются бусины, датируемые 6400 годом до нашей эры, но по-настоящему популярным металл стал в Древнем Риме.

Государство считается самым крупным производителем свинца доиндустриальной эпохи с годовым производством 80 тысяч тонн. Добыча происходила в Центральной Европе, на Балканах, в Греции, Малой Азии и Испании. Для сравнения, Дмитрий Менделеев писал, что в конце XIX века Россия производила лишь 2-3 тонны в год и потребляла около 40 тысяч тонн.

галенит
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей/ Галенит
Самородный свинец встречается исключительно редко, но круг пород, в которых он установлен, достаточно широк: от осадочных до ультраосновных интрузивных. Входит в состав 80 различных минералов. Основные источники элемента – галенит, англезит и церуссит.

Римляне не только производили из этого металла трубы для водопроводов, но и добавляли вино в виде свинцового сахара для улучшения вкусовых качеств. Учитывая, что наряду с водой это был самый популярный напиток, который к тому же считался средством против множества заболеваний и активно «прописывался» местными врачами в лечебных целях, практически все жители Великой империи были отравлены свинцом.

Хроническая интоксикация, к которой приводит регулярное попадание в организм человека соединений тяжелого металла, характеризуется поражением всех отделов головного мозга, кроветворной системы и почек, накоплением в костных тканях и вытеснением кальция. Свинец является политропным ядом, то есть действует на самые разные органы и системы организма. Именно поэтому многие современные исследователи называют его применение в бытовых целях роковым фактором ухудшения здоровья жителей Древнего Рима.

свинец
© Фрагмент свинцовой трубы древнеримского водопровода

Кстати, свинец широко использовали и на Руси – в 1633 году в Кремле был сооружен водопровод со свинцовыми трубами, вода по которому шла из Водовзводной башни. Одумались достаточно быстро – уже в 1737 году система была демонтирована. Впоследствии металл шел на покрытие крыш церквей, изготовление печатей к грамотам и красок, а после изобретения огнестрельного оружия – на производство пуль.

Сегодня токсичность свинца широко известна, однако, по словам химиков, лишь пугающие примеры воздействия элемента на человека и нехватка знаний обо всех его свойствах становятся причиной излишне негативного отношения к нему.

Свинец опасен в случае непосредственного попадания в организм человека. Но при грамотном обращении он не только безвреден, но и способен защищать человека от радиации. Кроме того, является незаменимым в ряде областей промышленности.

свинец
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей

Известно, что значительная часть британской арктической экспедиции Джона Франклина 1845-1848 годов погибла от отравления свинцом из-за некачественно произведенной пайки банок, в которых хранились консервы. Гораздо больший вред для здоровья, чем попадание металла в организм с пищей или жидкостью, оказывает вдыхание свинецсодержащей пыли, копоти и паров. В районах, где расположены заводы по переработке полиметаллических руд концентрация тяжелого металла в воздухе зачастую превышает существующие нормативы.

Поэтому в настоящее время для предотвращения ингаляционного поступления свинца в организм рабочих на предприятиях вводятся в эксплуатацию эффективные методы снижения запыленности воздуха, автоматизация технологических процессов и дистанционное управление, использование специальных вентилирующих систем на производстве (аспираций и воздушных душей).

В XX веке существенное загрязнение окружающей среды свинцом вызывалось выхлопами автомобильных двигателей, так как в моторное топливо для повышения октанового числа добавляли свинцовые присадки (тетраэтилсвинец). Сегодня большинство стран, в том числе Россия, на законодательном уровне запретили применение этилированного бензина, и эта проблема была решена.

Вместе с тем, свинец отлично поглощает γ-излучение, и именно он сыграл важную роль при ликвидации последствий аварии на Чернобыльской АЭС. Рулоны свинцового листа и мешки со свинцовой дробью сбрасывали на взорвавшийся реактор в течение нескольких недель, чтобы остановить процесс распространения радиации, создавая вокруг дымящихся обломков непроницаемую преграду.

чернобыль
© IAEA Imagebank

Когда стало понятно, что массового использования людей в месте ЧС не избежать, их решено было облачать в специальные усиленные средства защиты, которые, по сути, представляли собой свинцовые «доспехи». Просвинцованные рукавицы, каски, фартуки на грудь и спину, стельки в сапоги. Их вырезали буквально вручную из пластин толщиной 3 мм. Такие «латы» весили от 25 до 30 кг, зато позволяли снизить воздействие радиации в 1,6 раз.

чернобыль
© Кадр из сериала HBO "Чернобыль"

Сегодня металл используется для радиационной защиты в рентгеновских установках и ядерных реакторах. Кроме того, он рассматривается в качестве теплоносителя в проектах перспективных ядерных реакторов на быстрых нейтронах.

Объем современного производства свинца составляет более 2,5 миллиона тонн в год. Соединения и сплавы тяжелого металла применяются для производства снарядов и широкого спектра взрывчатых веществ, в качестве катодного материала в химических источниках тока, для производства специальной жидкости для флотационного обогащения руд, в электротехнике и химической промышленности. Большая часть идет на изготовление аккумуляторов, в том числе литиевых.

Подписывайтесь на наши каналы:Google NewsGoogle НовостиYandex NewsЯндекс НовостиYandex ZenЯндекс Дзен