Skip to main content

The horrors of Ural fairy tales

хозяйка медной горы
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей

Everyone knows the fairy tales from the Grimm brothers, but few parents have ever considered that their original versions are as violent as the most ruthless crime stories. Of course, these methods might be kind of obsolete for us, but back then; they thought no kid would ever obey without a little bit of that “friendly scare”. They called it "old-style education", we called it "nightmare fuel".
And there is a similar example to this in Russian literature.
Pavel Bazhov's most famous collection of tales, The Mistress of the Copper Mountain, which is on the list of 100 books recommended by the Ministry of Education to schoolchildren for independent reading, fails to promise a happy ending for the main characters... Or well, any kind of positive ending anyway. Kind of like a character out of George R. R. Martin books, if you were a character written by Bazhov, you'd have expected to have a gruesome (or at least uncomfortable) death.

хозяйка медной горы
© Общественное достояние

In 1931, after a series of discussions about the importance of folklore for the national economy in the reconstruction period, the Soviet government decided to publish a collection of the "Pre-revolutionary folklore in the Urals". Vladimir Biryukov, a member of the USSR Writers' Union, was commissioned to collect the material. The demands placed on the local historian were very clear: first, there must be no hint of religious themes, no swearing, and no tales of the harsh life of a peasant. Secondly (as if that wasn’t enough of a limitation), the main emphasis was to be placed on the advantages of collective labor and the interesting life of the working class. After a while of advancing absolutely nowhere, historian Biryukov realized something as shocking as, well... Reinventing the wheel.
It was then, when fifty-year-old journalist from the regional Peasant Newspaper, Pavel Bazhov, was involved in the search. His attempts to find information in the genre of socialist realism were also – to the surprise of absolutely no one – unsuccessful. But instead of stopping work, he started composing stories on his own, drawing on plots inspired by telltales he once heard as a child.

In order to comply with the requirements of the called, between citation marks, “technical assignment”; Pavel Petrovich placed pagan notions such as nature, soil, the richness of the subsoil and the beauty of precious stones, distant and alien to Christianity, in the main roles’ tales. He truly emphasised that all that was necessary for a man; was not richess, but work. Otherwise, he would be considered a primitive unreasonable creature. Skill and craftsmanship were regarded as the main source of pride in the stories. The portrayal of the working man as creative, independent and energetic was fully endorsed by the critics, and the author was noted as one of the most important writers of his time.

бажов
© Общественное достояние

Surprisingly, Bazhov did not anticipate that his work would be associated with children's literature. At first, even the editorial board did not consider the stories to be suitable for preschool children because of the complex, outdated language and the multiple connotations of the texts. But soon enough, the stories began to be read, first by Ural children, and then by Soviet children all over the country.

One of his stories tells the story of Yakov Zorko, a blind, elderly and greedy man appointed by a happy accident... as a mining master. Having lived to a ripe, old age; he has never been able to start a family, so he decides to ask a very young girl, Usta, to marry him. The bride-to-be, who does not want to marry such a man, decides to “test” the groom, and sends him to find a ravine on Karasja Mountain where, according to the legends, a large quantity of malachite can be found. There, precious stones, including malachite, start falling on Yakov from above. The man, blinded by the thought of possible riches, does not even pay attention to the bruises from the rockfalls; and soon enough the search drives him mad... Finally, he is immobilised and freezes under a tree.

малахит
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей/Малахит

In another tale, "Tayutka's Mirror", some miners accidentally stumble upon an unusual rock, which had a surface that resembled a mirror. The owner of the mine, a wealthy young lady who believed everything found belonged only to her, heard about the curiosity and ordered the wonder stone to be brought to her. When the woman held the stone up to her face to look into its reflection, the stone immediately cracked and ore splashed in her face, frightening her into unconsciousness. The lady survived, but all her children were born mad afterwards.

Сказы Бажова
© Общественное достояние

According to one version of scholars, Bazhov was inspired by German folklore when he wrote his works. Indeed, it is the Grimm Brothers' books that can be rightly called the scariest folk tales. For example, every child knows the story of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. But not everyone remembers that when the Queen commissions the girl to be led into the woods and killed, she demands to bring proof. The lung and liver of the unfortunate princess must convince her of the carnage. When a subject, taking pity on Snow White, brings the queen the entrails of a wild stag, she eats them.

Nevertheless, the tales of German writers usually have a relatively happy ending, which is not the case with Bazhov's stories. More often than not, it was the Mistress of the Copper Mountain who seized the fate in his tales; as 'mistress of underground riches', she was not always consistent in her actions. The sorceress could be both good and evil, living and dead, beautiful and ugly. She could take possession of Danila the Master's daughter after she released the latter to his wife, or she could keep the mining master for a century, turned to stone up to his waist. None of them seem to be pleasant ways to go, obviously.

изумруд
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей/Изумруд

You can see all the treasures of the Copper Mountain in the Mining Museum in St. Petersburg. The largest block of Ural malachite, weighing 1.5 tons, found at the Gumeshevsky mine, is stored here, and collections of emeralds, rubies, topaz and aquamarines are displayed.

малахит
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей

Also on display in one of the world's largest natural science museums is a work of art depicting Danila the Master and the Mistress of the Copper Mountain. The piece was cast at the Kaslinsky ironworks in the South Urals and is part of a collection of artistic castings that includes over a hundred pieces made in the 19th and 20th centuries at foundries in Russia, Ukraine and Germany.
Translated by Diego Monterrey, for Northwest Forpost.

Санкт-ПетербургНебольшой снег-8°C
$ЦБ:73,74ЦБ:83,24OPEC:70,03

Ужасы уральских сказок

хозяйка медной горы
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей

Сказки братьев Гримм с детства знает каждый, но кто из родителей задумывался, что они по своей жестокости не уступают сводкам криминальной хроники. Аналогичный пример есть и в отечественной литературе.

Самый знаменитый сборник сказов Павла Бажова «Медной Горы хозяйка», входящий в список «100 книг», рекомендованных Министерством образования школьникам для самостоятельного чтения, едва ли может похвастаться счастливой судьбой главных героев или позитивными концовками.

хозяйка медной горы
© Общественное достояние

В 1931 году после серии дискуссий на тему значения фольклора для народного хозяйства в реконструктивный период, советским правительством было принято решение издать сборник «Дореволюционный фольклор на Урале». Сбор материала поручили члену союза писателей СССР пермскому писателю Владимиру Бирюкову. Требования, выдвигаемые к краеведу, были предельно четкие. Во-первых, ни намека на религиозные темы, брань и рассказы о тяжелой крестьянской жизни. Во-вторых, главный акцент должен был быть сделан на преимущества коллективного труда и интересную жизнь рабочего класса. Через некоторое время историк Бирюков заявил, что нигде не смог найти рассказов о жизни рабочих и к поискам подключили пятидесятилетнего журналиста областной «Крестьянской газеты» Павла Бажова. Его попытки найти информацию в жанре социалистического реализма также не увенчались успехом. Но вместо того, чтобы прекратить работу, он сочиняет рассказы самостоятельно, опираясь на сюжеты, навеянные когда-то услышанными в детстве историями.

Чтобы соблюсти требования, так называемого, технического задания, Павел Петрович вывел в сказы на главные роли такие языческие понятия как природа, почва, богатство подземных недр и красота драгоценных камней, далекие и чуждые христианству. И подчеркнул, что вся эта роскошь нужна человеку не для богатства, а для дела, иначе его можно считать существом примитивным. Главным предметом для гордости в рассказах считалось мастерство и умение. Описанный образ рабочего человека - одновременно творческого, самостоятельного и энергичного, был полностью поддержан критикой, а автор отмечен как один из самых заметных писателей времени.

бажов
© Общественное достояние

Удивительно, что изначально Бажов даже не предполагал, что его произведение в первую очередь начнут ассоциировать с детской литературой. Поначалу и редакционный совет не рассматривал сказы как тексты пригодные для дошкольников из-за сложного устаревшего языка и многозначности текстов. Но в скором времени историями начали зачитываться сначала уральские, а затем и все советские дети.

Однако… одна из его историй повествует о Якове Зорко, слепом, пожилом и жадном мужчине, назначенном по счастливой случайности горным мастером. Дожив до преклонных лет, он так и не смог создать семью, поэтому, решил позвать замуж совсем юную девушку Устью. Будущая невеста, не желающего такого супруга, в качестве испытания отправляет жениха на Карасью гору найти овраг, где по легенде, хранится большое количество малахита. Там на Якова сверху падают драгоценные камни, в том числе и малахит. Мужчина, ослепленный мыслью о возможном богатстве, даже не обращает внимание на синяки от камнепада, вскоре поиски сводят его сума и обездвиженный он замерзает под деревом.

малахит
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей/Малахит

В другой сказке «Таюткино зеркальце» шахтеры случайно наталкиваются на необычную горную породу, поверхность которой была похожа на зеркало. Владелица шахты, зажиточная барышня, считавшая, что все найденное принадлежит только ей, услышав о диковине, приказала доставить ей чудо-камень. Когда женщина поднесла камень к лицу, чтобы посмотреть в его отражение, он сразу же треснул, и руда брызнула ей в лицо, напугав до потери сознания. Барыня осталась живой, но все ее дети после этого рождались сумасшедшими.

Сказы Бажова
© Общественное достояние

По одной из версий ученых, Бажов вдохновлялся немецким фольклором, когда создавал свои произведения. Действительно именно книги Братьев Гримм можно по праву назвать самыми страшными народными сказками. Например, рассказ о Белоснежке и семи гномах знает каждый ребенок. Но не все помнят, что когда королева поручает отвести девочку в лес и убить, она требует принести доказательство. Убедить в кровавой расправе ее должны легкое и печень несчастной принцессы. Когда подданный, пожалев Белоснежку, приносит королеве внутренности дикого оленя, та их съедает.

Тем не менее обычно сказки немецких сочинителей имели относительно счастливый финал, чего не скажешь о историях Бажова. Чаще всего судьбу в его сказах вершила Хозяйка Медной горы, будучи «владычицей подземных богатств», она не всегда была последовательна в своих действиях. Колдунья могла быть как доброй, так и злой, живой и мертвой, прекрасной и отвратительной. Она могла вселиться в дочь Данилы-Мастера, после того как отпустила последнего к жене, или на веке оставить у себя горного мастера, до пояса превращенного в камень.

изумруд
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей/Изумруд

Увидеть все сокровища Медной горы можно в Горном музее Петербурга. Здесь хранится крупнейшая глыба уральского малахита, весом 1,5 тонны, найденная на Гумешевском руднике, представлены коллекции изумрудов, рубинов, топазов и аквамаринов.

малахит
© Форпост Северо-Запад / Горный музей

Также в одном из крупнейших естественнонаучных музеев мира выставлено произведение искусства, изображающее Данилу-Мастера и Хозяйку Медной горы. Изделие было отлито на старейшем металлургическом заводе Южного Урала - Каслинском и входит в коллекцию художественного литья, которая насчитывает более сотни экспонатов, изготовленных в XIX-XX веках на литейных заводах России, Украины и Германии.

Подписывайтесь на наши каналы:Google NewsGoogle НовостиYandex NewsЯндекс НовостиYandex ZenЯндекс Дзен